The most unexpected part of Nevada may be its beautiful 145-year-old Reno campus overlooking the Sierra Nevada. The campus is a mix of living history, from nineteenth-century Morrill Hall, which sits on an elm-tree-lined grassy quadrangle, to the technologically advanced Davidson Mathematics and Science Center, Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and the Joe Crowley Student Union.
A visit to NEVADA isn’t complete without stopping at our best-known facilities and attractions.
Manzanita Hall is an iconic structure completed in 1896 and has been renovated to recreate a “Victorian” atmosphere.
Manzanita Lake was formed when Orr irrigation ditch (south of the lake) was dammed on Nov. 25, 1911. Today, swans, ducks, and even some turtles like to call it home. Manzanita Bowl, to the south of Orr Ditch, is a landfill that was brought in for the dam. Students have many activities, like karaoke, volleyball and Duck Day in Manzanita Bowl whenever the weather permits. The walkway separating the bowl and the lake was originally a carved wooden structure which was converted to a concrete walkway in 1937.
Clark Administration houses the President’s Office, Provost’s Office, as well as the Offices of University Vice Presidents for Student Services and Administration and Finance, and the Division of Planning, Budget and Analysis.
Honor Court Founder Names Each year, names are engraved into Honor Court in proud recognition of the accomplishments and support of those who contribute to excellence at the University of Nevada, Reno.
Honor Court Fountain The dramatic 45,000-pound, 20-foot granite obelisk listing the University’s philanthropists anchors Honor Court to the south. A series of impressive pillars, carved from 200,000 pounds of white granite mined from the nearby Sierra Nevada, features the names of major donors, award-winning faculty, students, employees and community members who have contributed to the University’s history and success.
Morrill Hall was the first building constructed on campus when the University was moved from Elko to Reno in 1885. Designed by Reno architect M.J. Curtis, and built at the then-astronomical sum of $13,500, Morrill Hall originally housed the entire University, including offices, classrooms, living quarters, a museum and the library. Morrill Hall was extensively remodeled in the 1970s and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. Today it is home to the University’s Division of Development and Alumni Relations.
Jot Travis offers food and beverage service in “The Overlook,” a $4 million facility that opened in 2004.
Frandsen Humanities was built in 1917-18, and is considered one of the most picturesque buildings on campus. It is home to the English Department.
Jones Center was originally opened as the campus library in 1914. This longtime fixture on the historic University Quadrangle was designed by the famed Reno architect Frederick De Longchamps. Currently, it houses members of the Divisions of Human Resources and Institutional Analysis.
The Quad Originally the heart of the campus, this beautiful area is the traditional setting for Commencement activities, and provides a pleasant place for picnics, concerts, and quiet reflection. Since 1987, the University of Nevada Quadrangle has been listed as a “Jeffersonian academic village” on the National Register of Historic Places, as the campus core follows Thomas Jefferson’s design for the University of Virginia lawn. The lovely, giant elm trees were planted in 1908.
Thompson Building is a Georgian-style building, designed by Reno architect Frederick De Longchamps. It was built in 1920 to house the University’s “teacher training” program. In 1959, the building was named to honor Dr. Reuben C. Thompson, who taught at the University from 1908 to 1948 and founded the Department of Philosophy.
Mackay Statue In 1908, New York sculptor Gutzon Borglum – who later carved Mount Rushmore – finished what would be the Silver State’s most celebrated statue after nearly two years of work. The artist brought to fruition the idea of Sam Davis, editor of the Carson City Morning Appeal, to immortalize John Mackay, the Irish immigrant who had helped direct the extraction of $100 million in silver and gold from two Virginia City mines from 1873 to 1878 – the Big Bonanza.
Nevada Living Learning Community opened its doors in 2012 to provide educational and social opportunities for incoming freshman students with shared academic and professional interests.
Lincoln Hall was named for President Abraham Lincoln and was built in 1895-96 to serve as a men’s residence hall. The building is an example of late 19th century “Eclectic” architectural style, using elements from several earlier styles. Along with Manzanita Hall, Lincoln is one of the oldest buildings on campus. It has undergone renovations to serve as office spaces.
Mackay School of Mines In 1908 the Mackay statue was commissioned by Clarence Mackay, son of the mining tycoon, and was designed by the New York architectural firm of McKim, Mead, and White. Above the stairs leading to the second floor, one sees a 24-foot model of a plesiosaur fossil. During a $10-million remodel, engineers recently improved the 1908 building’s resistance to earthquakes by lifting the foundation off the ground, installing a moat, and placing 44 Teflon slider plates and 64 base-isolation columns in the subbasement. Also inside you will find the DeLaMare Library, home to more than 85,000 volumes and 24,000 government publications, and the W.M. Keck Museum, which exhibits more than 6,000 mineral samples, fossils, and rare mining artifacts and machinery.
Pennington Student Achievement Center houses the Writing Center, Math Center, Tutoring Center, Nevada Career Studio, Advising Center, Student Veterans Affairs, Disabilities Resource Center, Counseling Services, TRiO & McNair Scholars, and Reflection and Mediation Rooms. DeliNV on the second floor serves coffee and food.
The school of the Arts welcomed a new 35,000 square food, three-story space for arts education, performances and exhibits. The new complex features a 287-seat recital hall, rehearsal spaces, music practice rooms and recording studio.
Fitzgerald Student Services Building This three-story, 51,000-square-foot building provides students, staff and faculty with student-related business resources and assistance including Admissions, Financial Aid and the Office for Prospective Students.
Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center houses 1.5 million volumes and offers technology, academic support and collaboration space. The Knowledge Center features the Mathewson Automated Retrieval System (MARS) which locates books and journals for students with a click of a button.
15th Street campus entrance The north part of campus has changed dramatically over the past decade and features dramatic new buildings and signage, all designed with energy efficiency in mind.
E.L. Wiegand Fitness Center opened in 2017 with approximately 108,600 square feet featuring three basketball gymnasiums, areas for weightlifting, cardio training, stadium stairs, 1/8th mile running track and a multitude of new fitness classes and activities.
Joe Crowley Student Union features the two-story Nevada Wolf Shop, a variety of food and drink retailers, a 1,200-seat grand ballroom, a 220-seat, two level movie theater, a 2,000-square-foot student organization center, and is home to the Associated Students of the University of Nevada, Graduate Student Association, Welcome Center and the Center for Student Cultural Diversity.
Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center opened in 1964. The Planetarium’s unique shape, called a “hyperbolic parabaloid,” was designed by famed Reno architect Ray Hellman and is now listed on the National Historic Register of Places. The 13,000-square-foot facility includes large-screen star shows and feature films, as well as stargazing events and a gift shop, and attracts some 44,000 visitors and 15,000 schoolchildren annually.
Lawlor Events Center is the home of Wolf Pack Basketball. There’s not a bad seat within this 12,000-seat multipurpose arena.
Legacy Hall opened in 1999 and is home to Wolf Pack athletics. The building includes the Wolf Pack Hall of Fame and Tribute to Champions exhibit, as well as administrative and coaches offices and the 160-seat AT&T Auditorium.
Mackay Stadium Entrance Having undergone recent renovations, Mackay Stadium serves as the grounds for an amazing home-field advantage and incredible game-day experience.
Wolf Statue Visitors to Mackay Stadium are greeted each season by the “howling wolves” sculpture.
Center for Molecular Medicine houses portions of the microbiology, pharmacology, pathology and physiology and cell biology departments; the goal of the center is to improve health outcomes through research and clinical care.
Harry Reid Engineering Laboratory is home to the Large-Scale Structures Lab, Center for Civil Engineering Earthquake Research, U.S. Super Pave Center, as well as hydraulics, asphalt, optical fiber, microwave and robotics labs.
Davidson Mathematics and Science Center boasts 100,000 square feet of state-of-the-art teaching and research space with designated mathematics and science wings, 464-seat auditorium, 27 modern laboratories, and four large classrooms. Opened in 2010.